Delaware Automobile Insurance
By Eric M. Doroshow, Esquire
July 29, 2008
Often, clients will ask me how much auto insurance they should have. Delaware law requires that each motor vehicle insurance policy contain coverage of at least $15,000.00 per person/$30,000.00 per accident for liability, personal injury protection (no-fault), and uninsured motor vehicle coverage.
It is highly recommended, however, that you purchase motor vehicle insurance in excess of the required minimum. Many consumers carry at least $100,000.00 of coverage for liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist. In addition, you should purchase comprehensive and collision insurance to protect you against property damage to your motor vehicle.
It is not recommended that you buy comprehensive and collision insurance in a specific amount. You should ask your agent to cover you for what is known as “ACV”, or “actual cash value”.
One of the biggest mistakes you can make is not buying enough insurance. An even bigger mistake is not buying automobile insurance at all. Delaware imposes severe penalties for not maintaining automobile insurance. For a first offense, the minimum penalty is $1,500.00, plus loss of driving privileges for six months.
Another common but less serious mistake is buying a policy with too high a deductible. Some people, in an effort to lower their insurance premiums, will buy minimum no-fault coverage with a $5,000.00 or $10,000.00 deductible for medical bills or lost wages. This means they are liable to pay these damages up to that amount before their insurance company is obligated to do so.
If you or your loved one has been involved in a car accident, you will need a Delaware personal injury attorney to review your case. We offer a free initial consultation. Contact us today.